Advanced Pet First Aid Level 3 (VTQ)

137 videos, 6 hours and 55 minutes

Course Content

Types of Bones

Video 22 of 137
1 min 18 sec
Want to watch this video? Sign up for the course or enter your email below to watch one free video.

Unlock This Video Now for FREE

This video is normally available to paying customers.
You may unlock this video for FREE. Enter your email address for instant access AND to receive ongoing updates and special discounts related to this topic.

Bones can be classified according to their formation and shape. They are called long bones, short bones, flat bones, irregular bones and sesamoid bones.

Long bones have a greater length than width and consist of a shaft with normally two extremities, examples include the humerus, femur, tibia, fibula, ulna, radius, metacarpal, metatarsals and phalanges.

Short bones are normally about as long as they are wide. Examples are carpals and tarsals.

Flat bones are thin bones sandwiched between two compact layers, they provide protection and large areas for muscle attachment, examples include the scapula, cranial bones, ribs and the sternum.

Irregular bones form very complex shapes and therefore cannot be classified within the previous groups, an example of an irregular bone is the vertebrae.

Sesamoid bones develop within particular tendons at a site of considerable friction or tension. They served to improve leverage and protect the joint from damage, the example is the patella, which is also called the kneecap.